Filter By

Contact Us

Head of the Department: Prof. Ram Ben Shalom

Advisor to Undergraduate Students: Dr. Oded Zinger

Advisor to Graduate Students: Prof. Dmitry Shumsky

Department Secretary: Mrs. Iris Nahari
Telephone: 02-5881388
Office hours: Sunday: 11:30-14:30, Monday-Thursday: 10:00-13:00
Humanities Building, room 4409



Prof. Menahem Ben-Sasson

Chancellor of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Previously Prof. Ben-Sasson had served as Rector of the Hebrew University, as Vice Dean of the Faculty of the Faculty of Humanities and as the President of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. In the years 2012 to 2015 Prof. Ben-Sasson served as Chairman of the Council of Presidents of the Universities in Israel (VERA).

Read More

Before appointment as President of the University in 2009, Prof. Ben-Sasson served as a Member of the Knesset and as Chairman of its Constitution, Law and Justice Committee.

Prof. Ben-Sasson is a researcher in the Department of History of the Jewish People in the Faculty of Humanities.  As a historian of Jewish heritage in the Islamic world, he wrote books and articles on a variety of topics, including the Jewish communities in Muslim countries, relations between religion and economy, as well as law and spirituality as authoritative sources in the Eastern society of the Middle-Ages.  He also specializes in research on the Maimonides, social and intellectual history, the literature of the Responsa and the works of the period of the Gaonim, research of the Genizah, as well as the works and leadership of R’ Saadia Gaon.


While in the past he served as editor and a member of the editorial board in a broad range of research publications, Prof. Ben-Sasson served as President of the World Union for Jewish Studies, as Vice President of the Memorial Foundation for Jewish Culture and as Chairman of the Ben-Zvi Institute for the study of Jewish Communities in the East, as also as a member of the Council of Yad-Vashem.  In 2016 he was elected as a member of the European Academy of Science and Arts.


A list of Prizes:


1978-1979       Research Grant of the Ministry for Education and Culture;

                        Center for Integration of the Heritage of Oriental Jewry

1980                The Hebrew Univ., Research Fellows' Prize

1980-1981       Moritz and Scharlota Warburg Prize

1982-1983       Memorial Foundation for Jewish Culture (Doctoral Scholarship)

1983-1984       Rothschild Fellowship

1985-1988       Alon Fund of the Israeli Council for Higher Education

1996/7             Feher Prize for Jewish History, and

1996/7             The Ben-Zvi Prize for the Study of Jewish Heritage.

2010                Honorary doctoral degree from The Jewish Theological Seminary


Link to YouTube:

The YouTube channel of the University has an abundance of speeches by Prof. Ben-Sasson from a profusion of events:  Board of Governors, scholarship award ceremonies and conferences


 “The Jewish Intellectual Revolution of the Tenth Century”, a lecture by Prof. Ben-Sasson 

Contact details: The Office of the President is located in the Administration Building on the Mount Scopus Campus, second floor, room 07. Reception, by appointment.


Read Less

Prof. Daniel Blatman

Room: Gester, 323
Tuesday, 1500-1600

Prof Blatman main topics of research are East European Jews in the 20th century; Jewish labor movement in Eastern Europe; Polish Jews during the Holocaust its aftermath; Nazi concentration camps; Historiography of the Holocaust and genocide.

Sergio DellaPergola

Prof. Sergio DellaPergola

Room: Gester, 430
Office Hours: By prior arrangement by phone
Sergio DellaPergola is Professor Emeritus and former Chairman of the Hebrew University’s Harman Institute of Contemporary Jewry.
ישראל אפעל

Prof. Israel Eph’al

Research interests: History of Israel and Its land within the Assyrian, Babylonian and Persian empires; West Semitic epigraphy; Ancient Near Eastern military history.

Read More


Read Less

Prof. Yosef Kaplan

Fields of research: Iberian Jewry after the Expulsions, the Conversos and their Diaspora, the Western Sephardi  Communities, the Intellectual Ferment in Early Modern Western Europe, the Western Sephardi and the Early Enlightenment

Read More

Academic Functions: Chairman of the Historical Society of Israel, 1992-2000; Director of the School of History at the Hebrew University, 2001-2004; Chairman of the World Union of Jewish Studies, 2009-2013; since 2013 Chairman of the Humanities Division of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities.

Prizes and Awards:  Ben Zvi Prize (2003) and Israel Prize (2013). In 2012 he was awarded an Advanced Grant  from the European Research Council (ERC).

Since 2004 he is a member of the Israel Academy for Sciences and Humanities.


Read Less
Eli  Lederhendler

Prof. Eli Lederhendler

Room: 6724
Tuesday, 13:00-14:00

The Stephen S. Wise Chair in American Jewish History, and Institutions in the Department of Jewish History and Contemporary Jewry. 


Prof. Israel J. Yuval

Israel Yuval is an historian of the jews in the middle ages

Read More

He is holding the Teddy Kollek Chair for Cultural Studies of Vienna and Jerusalem at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He is teaching at the Department of Jewish History. In 2002 he founded Scholion - Research Center for Jewish Studies and was its head from 2002 till 2010. From 1998-2008 he was the head of Germania Judaica IV (together with Prof. Michael Toch, Jerusalem and Prof. Stefan Rohrbacher, Duisburg). In 2011-12 he was a co-editor of Tarbiz – A Quarterly in Jewish Studies. His book Scholars in Their Time: The Religious Leadership of German Jewry in the Late Middle Ages, 1988 won the Zalman Shazar Prize in Jewish history. His book “Two Nations in Your Womb”. Perceptions of Jews and Christians, Hebrew: Magnes Press 2000, won the Bialik Prize in Jewish studies and literature, 2002. An English translation was published in 2006 by the University of California Press, a German translation by Vandenhoeck&Ruprecht 2007 and a French translation by Albin Michel 2012. The book was the winner of "Le prix des amis de P.A. Bernheim" awarded by the French Académie des Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres, 2013.

In 2016 he was the recipient of Verdienstkreuz am Bande des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.


Read Less